Alternative Fuels

Safety, Licensing, Training, and Certification

Alternative Fuels Events

  1. June 14

    Exams will be administered by Railroad Commission of Texas staff to certify individuals to perform work requiring contact with Propane (LPG), Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), and/or Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG).

    In addition to passing the exam, every applicant for LPG certification as a bobtail driver, DOT cylinder filler, service and installation technician, appliance service and installation technician, motor/mobile fuel dispenser or recreational vehicle technician must complete 8 hours of approved training by the next May 31 after passing the examination.  

    Retest will not be an option.

    (NOTE: If the examination is passed between March 1 and May 31, then the training must be completed by May 31 of the next year.)

    All individuals must be registered at least 7 days in advance of an event.

    All events are subject to change please check this event page at least 24 hours before the day of the event.  

    June 14, 2021 - 8:00 AM
View Our Events


The following links are PDFs PDF file

To purchase a hard copy of a publication, contact the Railroad Commission of Texas’ Central Records section at or 512-463-6882.

Alternative Fuels ANNOUNCEMENTS

Attendance Policy for Alternative Fuel Safety Events

June 07, 2021

Effective June 1, 2021, the Railroad Commission of Texas is implementing a new policy regarding Alternative Fuels Safety (AFS) events. Individuals registered for an AFS event and cannot attend must cancel three business days before the scheduled event to avoid additional costs. The cancellation must be submitted by email. AFS events include the initial course of training classes and continuing education classes for LPG (propane) and exam only sessions for all fuel types. The policy applies to events that are administered online or in person.

Fees paid for classes and exams are non-refundable by rule and will no longer be transferable to another event or individual if not cancelled by the deadline. Individuals who have not canceled and do not attend the event they are registered for will need to register for another event, submit any required paperwork, and pay all applicable fees to register. An individual is not registered for any event until the payment receipt is received and confirmed.

Questions regarding this policy can be submitted to

View Our Announcements


Alternative Fuels

Printable Overview

What we do

The Oversight and Safety Division has responsibility for Alternative Fuels, Gas Services and Pipeline Safety. This reorganization in January 2015 will bring even greater efficiency and consistency to these operations within the Commission, allowing the agency to better serve the state.

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) is the state agency responsible for regulating the safe storage, transportation and use of Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG, Propane, Butane), Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), and Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG), pursuant to the Texas Natural Resources Code (TNRC). The Commission has also adopted regulations for each fuel type under the Texas Administrative Code, Title 16, Chapters 9, 13, and 14, respectively.

The Alternative Fuels Safety (AFS) department enforces both the state statutes and the Commission’s regulations on these fuels, by conducting safety evaluations of stationary facilities and mobile equipment, licensing companies engaged in alternative fuel activities, and providing training to individuals working in the alternative fuels industries.