Accident and Incident Reporting
Pipeline operators must report incidents or accidents
To report an environmental emergency, discharge, spill, or air release from oil and gas facilities, pipelines, or alternative fuels contact the following:
The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) 24-Hour Emergency reporting line at 844-773-0305 (toll free) or 512-463-6788
Reporting incidents or accidents on Intrastate Pipelines
Pipeline operators must report incidents or accidents on intrastate gas systems that meet the following criteria as defined under 49 CFR 191.3
Incident means any of the following events:
(1) An event that involves a release of gas from a pipeline, gas from an underground natural gas storage facility, liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, refrigerant gas, or gas from an LNG facility, and that results in one or more of the following consequences:
(i) A death, or personal injury necessitating in-patient hospitalization;
(ii) Estimated property damage of $50,000 or more, including loss to the operator and others, or both, but excluding cost of gas lost; or
(iii) Unintentional estimated gas loss of three million cubic feet or more.
(2) An event that results in an emergency shutdown of an LNG facility or an underground natural gas storage facility. Activation of an emergency shutdown system for reasons other than an actual emergency does not constitute an incident.
(3) An event that is significant in the judgment of the operator, even though it did not meet the criteria of paragraph (1) or (2) of this definition.
Pipeline operators must report incidents or accidents on intrastate hazardous liquid pipelines reportable under 49 CFR Sections 195.50 and195.52 and 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 8 by telephone within two hours and must file the required written report filed within thirty (30) days. Call the 24-hour emergency phone number 844-773-0305 (toll free) or (512) 463-6788 to report an incident or accident. Please remember this priority phone line is used only to report emergencies
All Underground Pipeline Damages Involving Excavation
All underground pipeline damages must be reported by the pipeline operator and the excavator involved. The report should be filed through the Commission's online reporting system.
- State of Texas Spill-Reporting Hotline and the SERC: 1-800-832-8224 (notifying the SERC does not constitute notice to the Railroad Commission)
- National Response Center: 1-800-424-8802 (Notifying the NRC does not constitute notice to the Railroad Commission.)
Oil and Gas Activities
Oil and Gas operators are required by §3.20, Chapter 3 (TAC) to give immediate notice of a fire, leak, spill, or break to the appropriate commission district office (see a map of the district boundaries here) by telephone. Such notice shall be followed by a letter submitted to the district office giving the full description of the event including, but not limited to, the volume of crude oil, gas, geothermal resources, other well liquids, or associated products that are lost. Click here to view oil and gas district office contact information.
Accident/Incidents Involving Alternative Fuels at Stationary Facilities and Mobile Equipment (Vehicles/Cargo Tanks)
Liquefied Petroleum Gas
Accidents or incidents involving liquefied petroleum gas equipment and facilities applicable to Chapter 113, Texas Natural Resources Code, must be reported by telephone within two hours and the required written report (LPG Form 20) filed with the Alternative Energy Division within fourteen (14) calendar days. Criteria for emergency reporting may be found in §9.36, Chapter 9 (TAC) LP-Gas Safety Rules. Call the 24-hour emergency phone number 844-773-0305 (toll free) or (512) 463-6788 to report an accident or incident. Please note this priority phone line is used only to report emergencies.
Compressed or Liquefied Natural Gas
An accident involving Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) or Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) equipment and facilities applicable to Chapter 116, Texas Natural Resources Code, must be reported by telephone as soon as possible after a licensee has knowledge of the accident. The appropriate written report (CNG Form 1020 or LNG Form 2020) must be submitted to the Alternative Energy Division within fourteen (14) days of the date of initial notification. Criteria for reporting CNG emergencies may be found in §13.36, Chapter 13 (TAC), Regulations for Compressed Natural Gas (CNG). Emergency reporting criteria for LNG emergencies may be found in§14.2049, Chapter 14 (TAC), Regulations for Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG). Call the 24-hour emergency phone number 844-773-0305 (toll free) or (512) 463-6788 to report an accident or incident. Please note this priority phone line is used only to report emergencies.
Last Updated: 8/3/2017 11:26:07 AM