## RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS Oil and Gas Division

## **NOTICE TO OPERATORS**

## Groundwater Protection Determination Application Fee and Surcharge

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) has adopted amendments to 16 Texas Administrative Code §3.78 (Statewide Rule 78), regarding *Fees and Financial Security Requirements*. Effective February 1, 2016, an application fee of \$100 is required for a Groundwater Protection Determination. The application fee is also subject to a 150 percent (\$150) surcharge required by Statewide Rule 78(n). Therefore a total of \$250 must be remitted to the Commission with each Form GW-1, *Groundwater Protection Determination Request Form*.

When filing the Form GW-1 online, you may also make payment online. For additional information on filing the Form GW-1 online and submitting the required fee online, visit the Commission's website at <a href="https://www.rrc.texas.gov/oil-and-gas/applications-and-permits/groundwater-advisory-unit/">https://www.rrc.texas.gov/oil-and-gas/applications-and-permits/groundwater-advisory-unit/</a>.

When filing the Form GW-1 via email or fax, you may make payment by contacting the Commission's Public Sales Section at 512-463-6882. If you send the application via U.S. mail or overnight service, include a check for the appropriate amount.

For further information regarding the adoption of these amendments to Statewide Rule 78, please contact Norman Gearhart at <a href="mailto:norman.gearhart@rrc.texas.gov">norman.gearhart@rrc.texas.gov</a> or 512-463-2937.

For a limited time, documents related to the rulemaking process will be available on the Commission's website at https://www.rrc.texas.gov/general-counsel/rules/proposed-rules/.

PLEASE FORWARD TO THE APPROPRIATE SECTION OF YOUR COMPANY

Austin, Texas February 1, 2016